~Family~

Family- are not the people born into a physical family, one predicated by birth; but, the people you catch in their free fall along the road of life who would in turn catch you in your free fall as well.

My physical family structure is quite intense, as anyone who actually knows me would tell you. I have a large family, there are so many branches of this family, that I am quite sure under direct pressure I could not name 80% of them. This family seems to grow considerably each year and some of that indeed has to do with births, a lot of precious little ones! We have a lot of them to claim, and we do so proudly!

But (a word that actually cancels everything before it- pretend for this example that this is not the case)

There is another family, made up of my dearest friends, and some of my physical family, and they are…

My spiritual family- those I go to and ask to join with me in prayer on an issue, well they are quite wonderful indeed. This family, completely by choice, are the warriors I fight alongside. I take them into battle with me for a fight that is not physical, but spiritual in nature. The Bible clearly tells me in

Ephesians 6:12

“For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world,

against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places. “

that I don’t fight in the physical, I fight in a realm I don’t even see. A place where the things of this world, seen and unseen battle for my affection. My soul is taken care of, I have relationship with the Lord of Heaven and Earth, I accepted His son, Jesus to be my Lord, my Savior, my Redeemer. He is my everything, so why is it that the battle is even being fought over me? Little secret for you… Because what I carry is much greater “than he that is in the world.” I carry the seed of a family that adopted me. I carry a passion for the lover of my soul, the creator of the universe, the giver of all good things. I have joined the family of the most high God. The one true God. There is none like Him. He is Lovely, He is gracious, He is Peace, He is Joy. The war is waged for my destiny; for all that I could be.

The thief comes in the night, to steal, kill and destroy. I think it says it in that order because once something has been stolen from you, sometimes a loved one lost in a battle of the physical world, or lost to the battle of the mind, sometimes a lay off, lack of physical provision, or the depression over the inability to provide, becomes a beacon that to the unseen world is a target, you are now prime for an attack.

The enemy sees this as a great opportunity to take you out, at the root; your heart. You weren’t ready for that were you? You thought I was gonna give a battle wound description, but alas, the greatest wound is a heart wound. A lack of faith wound, a defeated mentality, completely broken and holding a white flag. He comes to destroy your destiny. He uses our physical circumstances to halt our spiritual growth. He tells us lies that steal our joy, he begins murmuring about us and robs us of our trust, he allows our closest allies to be his weapons of choice to wound us in a moment of their own weakness, and slowly, the truth fades from sight. The faith that we hold so dear becomes worry, which of course begets a sour attitude, one of insecurity and devoid of love, passion for the purpose.

He wins the battle. Sometimes daily, but I want to encourage you, there is a war waging beyond what you can see, and you have a warrior named Jesus, who fights on your behalf, who encourages the angels in heaven to engage in battle over your destiny. Your soul is just an entrance for God’s love. The step towards salvation and becoming a part of the family of God is the greatest step if all you ever want out of life is to sail through and get to heaven.

Me, well I want more. I want to witness people hard in heart falling on their knees in surrender to the God who created them in their mother’s womb. I want to see the sick healed, the broken redeemed and the lost found. I want to stand for the love of God that is so intense that it changes a life in one moment. I am talking a 30 second moment. A touch from God, to look into His face and see eyes that blaze like fire. He is a warrior. Fierce and able to stand before, beside and behind me, and He does it by choice. While we have a choice to wallow, to sit in our mess, He doesn’t. He will never give up His stance, His position, He will always defend, always protect, always love, and always forgive.

“Cast your burden on He, who cares for you. If God is for me, who can be against me. Whom shall I fear, your rock and your staff they comfort me, though a thousand shall fall at your side and ten thousand at your right hand, it will not come neigh my dwelling, no weapon formed against me shall prosper,  the battle is not mine, the battle is the Lords”. In the battle, cling to the truth that sets you free. Store His word in your heart, that in the moment you need it, it will be there.

Your physical family… they are the people God chose you to be alongside, they are your physical DNA, but there is a family that is a part of your spiritual DNA, whose leader is the King of Kings. If you don’t know Him… I would love to tell you about Him. Please contact me, you are not alone.

Put your battle gear on, life is a rough war; suit up!

Leave me a message! :)

