Cheer!

“I cried out, “I am slipping!” but your unfailing love, OLord, supported me. When doubts filled my mind, your comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer.” Psalm 94:18-19 NLT

I love this! This was BibleGateway.com’s verse of the day. I try to read that each day and some days, it’s like a voice speaking to me. We would all agree as believers that He speaks to each of us differently. He is our voice in our heads sometimes, He is the words that I read some days, He is the Love that I feel for my children, and by action show them, He is my song in the desert, when I feel like everything else has faded away. He is my rock and my fortress. I have tried to explain to my children and the children in our children’s service, that we memorize scripture so that we can USE it! I can say the words from scripture and at some point they come to life. When I say He is deliverer, I have to begin to think that He is my deliverer, which means whatever is holding me hostage has to set me free.

I have been following a blog, ChristianPF.com for over a year now. Possibly longer. I have been so encouraged by what I read there, and the lessons taught. It stands for Christian Personal Finance. If you are a new believer, you may not realize yet that even your finances have to change when you meet Jesus. Yep. I am serious, and while you are thinking, whaaaa? I am saying, You are blessed when you love Jesus. That applies to your finances as well. Yep, He doesn’t just want your heart, or your soul, He wants to bless you. In all ways. That’s His favorite thing to do.

My Pastor shares a story that I love and as an fyi, I am going to massacre the details, because I wasn’t there, but I believe it applies here, and the end result is the same! He told us of a time when he only had two children… (long ago for those of you who don’t know him) that he was watching his children eat. His oldest had a plate with potato chips on it, and his youngest had depleted their potato chip resources. The youngest of course looks to the oldest, and begins the puppy dog look. It works, the oldest has a kind heart so they give their chips away. As a father he shares how it touched his heart to see his child give away all they had to the sibling, even when they didn’t know there were more.

The key was, the father is always watching and he is holding the bag that’s full of chips.

Our culture says if they have it, then there isn’t enough for me. We are selfish and often cruel speaking unkindness when blessing is needed. If your neighbor has something you want, rejoice with them, for all things come from the Lord, through your purse, from your paycheck which was provided by God! Your inability to rejoice when someone has a reason to rejoice will hold you back. Someone who doesn’t bless others, will not be blessed, if you do not forgive others the bible tells us we won’t be forgiven. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. Again Biblical.

Now many will say they can’t afford to tithe. I get it, I do… except that I don’t. I grew up in a tithing home, and we went without some things, and we survived, but the tithe was constant. It was not negotiable. We never went without our needs. I carried the principle to my home and in times when we should have lost it all, the Lord came through and blessed the tithe. We now tithe above the 10% that we are called to. We don’t buy brand new toys and games, we don’t go out to eat every week or even every month. We don’t have a fancy house, or sweet cars, our kids don’t wear top dollar clothing, and we don’t either. We sacrifice so that we can be givers. To be givers you can’t be shackled to debt. When God asks me to give in a moment to bless someone, I need to be debt free and have a storehouse of savings to do just that.

We are so caught up concerning ourselves that the world views Christians as weak, powerless people. We are strong, capable and financially backed by the one who owns a cattle on a thousand hills. He is my provider. He is all I need, and Jesus told the one poor guy in what we call the parable of the rich young ruler to give it all away and follow Him. Do you see the ridiculousness of this story. The King of Kings who stepped out of Heaven, out of riches beyond compare, out of comfort, to come to us because of Love, and the Rich Young Ruler, couldn’t give his material things away to follow Him.

My friends, our culture has it twisted, and we as a nation are choosing not to follow the King of Kings, because we might have to sacrifice having 2 cars, or a smaller house.  We were created for greatness and money is our tool to put Kingdom work ahead of wants. The Kingdom and it’s churches are bound to debt because the Church (the people who make it), the bride of Christ is too busy playing video games that would feed a family who is trying to make it and is in need for a week; buying tokens and coins in fake games from facebook and apps that consume your mind and leave no room for the lover of your Soul.

Challenge yourself. I wouldn’t call you to do something I haven’t done or am unwilling to do. Break your chains, and as Psalms said, “I cried out, “I am slipping!” but your unfailing love, O Lord, supported me. When doubts filled my mind, your comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer.” Psalm 94:18-19 NLT

When doubt tells you, “you can’t do this”, when it’s uncomfortable, stand and cry out to the Lord your God who will not only bring you comfort but renew your hope and give you cheer. You will NEVER out give God! He already gave you eternal life through the gift of His son!

Leave me a message! :)

