Blemish-

-a small mark or flaw that spoils the appearance of something

Ever had acne or a scar? I mentioned this yesterday in the post and wanted to go a bit deeper with it.

I had a beautiful complexion when I was younger, I rarely had acne on my face. In a strange twist after I got pregnant with my daughter I developed adult acne. I have had it for the last 7 years. I am now 30- yep- read it and weep, and every time I look in the mirror I am met with disappointment. I have tried every kind of wash, The big name brand kinds, the knock off name brands, and plain old antibacterial soap. I have never been successful at removing this. One precious relative is always telling me, “it looks better today”, and God bless her, although she doesn’t intend it to sound anything but encouraging, it serves to remind me that I have not done a good job concealing the marks on my face, and reassuring me, that people see the acne before they see me.

My daughter is precious, she really may be a marketing executive one day, she is constantly telling me I should get NO NO, or whatever that product is for hair removal. (I’m not that hairy, in case you wondered.) About a year or so ago Loralei who was 6 came into my room and sat down on the bed beside me, and so gently rubbed her little fingers on my chin, also known as the “main zone”. It should have it’s own area code with all of the landmarks that have been set up there, demolished and now have permanent residency in the last 7 years.

2013-07-28_18.52.001

There she is, Ms. No No herself.

Back to Loralei: She is rubbing her fingers on the zone and she says, “Mommy, there is stuff on t.v. for your bumps. It will make them all go away.” stab- heart is bleeding- hurt and sadness are sweeping in and I am more insecure than I have ever been. My 6 year old who is supposed to see me without physical flaws, who has only known me with these atrocities on my face, is calling me out, so sweetly and so painfully.

Deep Breathe. She doesn’t mean to hurt you. Tears in my eyes I say what every good mom would say, “Thank You baby, Your right that might help”. I knew it wouldn’t, I had already tried it, but to crush her intentionally because I was hurt was out of the question.

Have your little ones ever done that? Hit you with a whopper? Something that mattered or was incredibly personal to you, that you could only smile and nod in response; because the air had left your body?

What I learned from this… the Bible tells us in Ephesians 2 27 “He did this to present her to himself as a glorious church without a spot or wrinkle or any other blemish. Instead, she will be holy and without fault.”

Although I was treating the acne, I was treating it with the wrong weapon. I was using bacterial and cleansing products multiple times a day trying to wash away something that ended up being caused by my hormones. I was scrubbing away at my flesh and coming up with blood for something that had to happen on the inside of me. Insert Birth Control for the first time in my life. I’ll attempt to add a before and after shot- of the acne, not the birth control…actually because I fear your children will throw things at the monster in your computer screen, I may not! 😉

Jokes aside, this is what we do with our shame, our sins. We scrub the surface when we need a heart change, we need a total transformation in our thinking. We are using fleshly weapons when supernatural weapons are needed. If there is an area of your life that you just can’t seem to get a grip on. Change weapons. You have the God of Angel Armies on YOUR side, they fight for you, at your command. There is nothing larger, nothing greater than the King of Kings when He is on your side. No weapon formed against you shall be able to prosper. The battle belongs to HIM! Let Him fight and take a break, won’t you?

To be without blemish or flaw, we must be open to being transformed, as we said yesterday, naked and bare before Him. He can then come in with a really powerful Dyson and suction out all that infection and decay bring. Leaving you; whole, and flawless.

Blessings,

mel

Leave me a message! :)

