A Pearl of Great Value

O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you. My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you in this parched and weary land where there is no water. Psalm 63:1 NLT

David… such a poet. His words have the ability to reach me in any season, because he chronicled his seasons. He rejoices, he mourns, he loves, he hates, he sins, he is forgiven, he is a man after God’s heart. He is the picture of grace- true grace.

Life is like a spider web… yep.

SONY DSC

We begin by being woven and spun in the womb, what results is a work of art, a masterpiece that is never to be recreated. The mold is broken.  We begin a journey, sometimes that journey leads us to places where He is. Other times we lead ourselves to a place where we will need His grace.

No matter the course we take, He knows where we are going. He knows we need His grace, His forgiveness and mercy. I believe this is the exact reason the word of God tells us that His mercies are new every morning. It’s symbolic to us, yes, His mercy is available, new and ready and waiting for you when you wake up, to forgive you…but is it just for you?

Our “me”, “i” generation society says it means that His mercies are new for “me” every morning, I think it should be read, “His mercies are new for me to give every morning”.

I have a temper, I have told you all that before, it rises up at times and pulls long dead hurts and circumstances up, because my temper is not of God. I have an enemy who wants me to wallow, yep, wallow in my own faults, sins, mistakes until I forget my purpose, until I cancel my assignment, until I desert the task I have been given and go MIA.

This is so easy to do, but we have a God who tells us in His word, my strength is made perfect in your weakness. When I am having that moment, I have to be able to pull my big girl pants up and say, “Lord, I need You to give me mercy for them when I feel no mercy for them.” “Lord I need You to give me grace when I feel no grace.”  Be real with the Lord. He already sees your black specks in your heart, the areas of weakness that we don’t surrender to Him, so just be honest! “God I am angry with them. They said this. They did this. It’s not fair… and if you really get down to the truth… God why did YOU let this happen. They don’t deserve my mercy. They should suffer.” Am I alone on this?

Most of our mistakes are wrapped around other people, not because they necessarily did anything, but because of our negative/ inappropriate actions or reactions to a circumstance that involved people. His mercies are made new every morning so that in my weakness I can forgive them and bless them and propel both of us into our destinies, to be used by God to transform a world in darkness into the light.

The spiderweb is designed to do something specific, so were you. The spiderweb has an intricate pattern woven within it, although I don’t personally care for Spiders, I see their value.  There are people I don’t care for in this world, due to personality differences, due to the differences created by upbringing, due to backlash of a fallen hurting world.

I don’t have to become someones best friend, be a part of their social circle, think that they should be promoted to Emperor of my world; but I do have to find value in them. I do have to believe that they are worthy of forgiveness, of mercy, of the sacrifice of a Perfect Man on a cross at Calvary. I have to go out of my way as a follower of Him to say, I WILL FORGIVE.

Though I live in a parched land, a land that doesn’t honor our God, or Savior, Though my soul thirst for You, Despite my inner turmoil, despite what my flesh wants to do, or say. Your mercy is made perfect in my weakness, your forgiveness is available for me to accept and give!

The Lord sees us all as a Pearl of Great Price. He paid for us at the cost of His son. This morning, pray that the Lord would show you the value of those you despise, dislike, or for some of you, who may have experienced great trauma, or heartbreak at the hands of another, even hate. I pray with you, for a heart free of the trap of unforgiveness.  It will cost you a far greater price than the pain and healing of forgiveness.

44 “Again, the kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and hid; and for joy over it he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field. 45 “Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant seeking beautiful pearls, 46 who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had and bought it.

pearl

David was no greater than you or I, but he was honest before the Lord.  He was known best, not as a sinner, an adulterer, a worshipper, a King, but as a Man After God’s Own Heart.  God can not move on our behalf until we let Him in. Let’s be transparent before Him today.

Blessings,

mel

Leave me a message! :)

