Destruction is in a Name

Phillipians 3: 12 I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. 13 No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it,[d] but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

My soapbox. Something that seems to cause gasps and anxiety in others; I despise … Facebook.

I detest it. I have since it began. I think it’s a great concept, until you factor in that most of us have a past. One that we are ashamed of, or desire to leave behind; or as Paul says, “Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead.” I have a choice each day to make, I can wake up and choose to love my husband and see him as a gift from God or I can wake up tell myself I love him  while I am thinking about another person who could have made my life better than I think it is.

I could choose to follow people that I left behind and not continue to push myself to a greater degree of love for my husband and family. We as a society already have left face to face and ear to ear conversations behind, to be engaged in fingertip to phone. We have made communication as impersonal as we can. We call it convenience but all it is, is a disconnected society who sees no one but self.

I hear stories of the things people put on Facebook and it astounds me, and breaks my heart. We have embraced the tell all and show all mentality just to be seen ourselves. We are in need of constant praise over what we have done, how adorable our children are, and how well we are doing. We are braggers of the highest regard and although Facebook isn’t evil, our idolism of it is. It is an idol, if you spend more time on there than in the word of God or in prayer, or with your husband, wife or children (ouch, I know… but we all fall short of the glory of God. It’s not condemnation I am giving you. It’s love and how to maintain a healthy mental state to give all the Lord give to you back to your family and community).

For some Facebook is an opportunity to pray for those who acknowledge their difficult times. This is what the church body used to be about, uniting together in prayer over one’s burden’s. We skip church and call it, “home church”, or something else equally ridiculous. We leave the door open for people to learn more about our children than our children may want them to know. We share their secrets online to a group of people who wouldn’t show up to bear your burdens with you.

We “fall back in love” with someone we used to date through pictures and theories about what life with them would have been like. The grass seems greener and we run to lay in it. We believe the lie that we tell ourselves, “it’s innocent, it won’t hurt anyone, it’s not controlling me, it isn’t a problem for me, I can handle it, I am able to be pulled into my former self and come out unscathed, i still love Jesus while I idolize, compare, envy, lust and am wrapped up in myself. The sad truth is, we aren’t created to sustain relationships with hundreds of people, and what they think doesn’t matter. We were created for more than that.

For some people Facebook isn’t a big deal, they have no regrets, nothing in their past that is a livewire to destruction for themselves or their family. If you use Facebook or another Social site today, examine yourself. It isn’t evil and it may not be a struggle for you. If you examine yourself and realize that you would go into a state of high anxiety or depression if Facebook was shut down forever, begin praying for the Lord to show you what a healthy standard for the site would be, or if their is a healthy standard for you. It isn’t healthy for me. I am a dreamer, and in my mind I enter very dangerous territory when I look to the past and see the loves of my heart before I was prepared to awaken that love.

I love Song of Songs, Solomon had it going on, and he was able to acknowledge and warn us that young love, before an understanding of who we are and what our purpose is is dangerous. It was for me and I have to submit that unto the Lord often to maintain control of that time of my life. There are greater things ahead and looking backward as Lot’s wife did, is death for me.

Facebook is now 1/3 in the reasons for divorce in the United States of America. That is ASTOUNDING. Of the users on Facebook we are looking at a 66% rate from 2012.

I can acknowledge that armed with Facebook I may become an additional statistic.  Your marriage is a covenant between you, your spouse and God, you have to destroy anything that threatens that covenant. It is precious, it is the opportunity for a legacy beyond what you can imagine. It provides your children a security that they can take into their marriage. That even though it is hard, it is possible. Even when you have to sacrifice self, it is worth it. Even when it is painful, there is glory.

Leave your past right where it is. Let that burden lay packed up to be destroyed. Let your God have all of you, and push you forward in your journey. Don’t look back. Keeping your eyes fixed on Him will never allow you to go back, to sit there and wallow. He is too good a God for that. Jesus paid for your past, don’t ask Him to continue paying for it, because you won’t leave it there.

 

Blessings,

Mel

Leave me a message! :)

