When No One is Looking

So…

I went shopping with my mom and Loralei yesterday for a dress to wear to my brother in laws wedding tomorrow!

I found a dress. I love the dress. I found shoes… nice tall heels. I really like the shoes, and the other pair of heels that I bought, well they are beautiful too. One pair- the plain pair that I actually need for work, were 27.00… they were Nine West from Ross (the greatest store ever…. in my humble opinion) and I really didn’t want to pay that… but I decided to. The other pair… 16.99 Metallic beauties.

If you knew me you would know that I am not flashy. At all. I go home and have to fight the urge to immediately put on sweat pants because they are deliciously comfortable, and most of the time I lose that battle. I don’t like to stand out. I want to blend in. I don’t know when that changed, because I used to like to be out front and was very outgoing.

Alas, It’s different now and now I am simple; except for this new pair of metallic high heels. I got the ridiculously high kind, because my husband is 7 feet tall. You read that right, and I am 5′ 7″… noticeably shorter! Anyways, back to the story. I am in line, I check out, I think to myself, “Self, that total sounded awfully different that what you expected.” I am walking out of the store. My darling mom, has pulled the car up to the curb, I get in. I look at the receipt. She didn’t ring up my expensive plain black heels. I am bummed. I know internally that I have to go back to pay for these, but I’m in a fleshly state of denial.

I look at my mom, and I say, “I always go back when they don’t ring something up. Do I have to?” She of course says what my spirit says anyway, “Yes.”. I am grumbling now, because it’s not really my fault that she missed this. However, I am hearing God. “Even when no one is looking”. “Yes Lord.”

I go back to the store, walk in, tell her she missed something, and she says, “Yeah, our thing misses the tags sometimes.” She rings me up and I leave. She doesn’t even say, “Thank You!!!!!”. I am let down, but Doing the Right Thing is always the Right Thing, especially when No One is Looking, because He is looking. He sees. Everything, and there is Honor in knowing you did the right thing because you knew it was the right thing.
Matthew 6:”3 But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, 4 so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”

Ok, I know, this isn’t the exact same thing, but it tells us He sees what we do when no one is looking, and rewards us both in secret and when no one is looking.
Show Honor and Respect to your bosses, parents, friends and your enemies, when no one- is looking. There are incredible rewards from your Father in Heaven when you Honor His creation, even when they may not yet be His children.

Be honest when you check out! It’s hard… for me it was difficult, but that one honest move could have restored my not so friendly cashier’s faith in a world that is a bit off the hinge.

Blessings and Happy Friday!
Mel

Leave me a message! :)

