Intercession Instead of Conversation

Samuel, both 1st and 2nd, are great books to read. I actually get lost in the language, in the constant turning to and from the Lord, by David and others. I found this today and it spoke to me.  2 Samuel 24

ladies prayer

14 David said to Gad, “I am in deep distress. Let us fall into the hands of the Lord, for his mercy is great; but do not let me fall into human hands.”

I was thinking about how we look at other people and then how we handle them. Isn’t it beautiful that David wants to fall into the Lord’s hands? (This entire context I am creating from these words is way off from what was going on around David at the time this happened- for more info please see 2 Samuel 24, but I am going somewhere)

David has an option to have Famine, Plague or Fleeing from His enemies happen. The Lord has told him, one of these 3 is going to happen, but He allows David to choose, and instead of naming the one he wants, David hands it back to the Lord. He never says which it will be, just that he wants to fall into the Lords hands and not human hands.

My mouth can be fierce. I am just being honest, when I am not turning things over to the Lord, I have a terribly yucky mouth regarding others. Do you ever get that way? Where you handle something incredibly indelicately? Instead of protecting a confidence, or someone from being talked about, you actually provide the information for the discussion. God is dealing with me on this.

This is a main reason people choose to not come to or go back to church. We the church will talk about them. We will point out their flaws and their weaknesses, and we do it like this. “We really need to be praying about _______”, “did you hear___________?” Do we pray even once on that phone in that conversation? NO! We don’t do it to be nasty, I really believe people want to help, but talking vs. praying equals negative results.

Out of the three options the unchurched, or unbelievers are given by the church; 1. to be talked about because they are as imperfect as we are because they aren’t in the faith, 2. to go to church and continue getting beat down by everyone around them, christian and non, and 3. to go through sickness, divorce, loss alone, they say… hey none of those work for me- forget this, I will just do what I know. We haven’t shown them that we can take things to God, we have shown them that we will talk about it, because we talk to them about someone else.

I am GUILTY. I won’t be casting any stones today. How different would our internal (me and God), external (me and everyone) relationships be if they were engulfed in prayer. Jesus prays with us for His people, He stands daily in the gap- in intercession on all of our behalf. He is saying, close your mouth and let me speak to my dad through you so we can get some things done for the glory of God!

David sums it up a few verses later in 2 Samuel by saying,

17 When David saw the angel who was striking down the people, he said to the Lord, “I have sinned; I, the shepherd,[c] have done wrong. These are but sheep. What have they done? Let your hand fall on me and my family.”

“Lord, would you let your hand fall on us. To bear the burdens of those who do and don’t know you. Let us stand in intercession instead of conversation regarding them. Let us look and sound like your son when He speaks to you. Cleanse us of unrighteousness that we may be filled with Holy Spirit today. Amen.”

Blessings,

mel

2 thoughts on “Intercession Instead of Conversation

  1. Psalms 19:14
    Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.

    Thanks Melissa for your prayers, words and your thoughts on things. You are so precious in His sight and He knows your beautiful heart.

    • Thanks so much for that scripture. I love it. I pray I can live that in front of my children everyday. I am so glad the Lord is encouraging others through the “disqualified”! 🙂 Blessings!

Leave me a message! :)

