Christmas Joy

tree

You know how I loooove Christmas. The movies, the smells, the decorations, the food…oh the food, but it’s the music that does me in.

There is something in a song created to signify an important event, like our Saviors birth. When the opening chords play for O Holy Night, I am transported to that night, in awe, that He came… for me.

If there anything more beautiful than a child’s first breath, their first smile, their first giggle, it is the birth of our Savior. My favorite Christmas songs have changed over the years, from “All I want for Christmas is my two front teeth”, as a child, to silver bells as a teen, and then “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”, to “O Holy Night” now. I realize that at every stage of my life, there is a song that expresses my joy, if not at his direct birth, because of the joy of a season initially designed to celebrate Him.

Do you have a favorite Christmas song? Does yours change through seasons of your lives, or do you hold one high above all the others?

O holy night, the stars are brightly shining

 It is the night of our dear Savior’s birth 

Long lay the world in sin and error pining ‘

Til He appeared and the soul felt its worth

A thrill of hope, the weary world rejoices

For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn’

Fall on your knees, O hear the angels’ voices

O night divine, O night when Christ was born

O night divine, O night, O night divine

Blessings,

mel

Leave me a message! :)

