The Need is Always Greater than the Sign

 

I Love looking into scripture and seeing things that I didn’t see before. I believe that is because the Lord reveals things to us as we are ready to receive them… kinda like not giving your 2 month old infant a cheerio. They aren’t ready. If you mash it up and add water- well that would be disgusting, but it would be in a liquid form. An acceptable form for the individual it was prepared for. I was looking today on Biblegateway.com, if you have been here for a while you know it is my go to Bible Search Engine! I have yet to be disappointed after years of use. It has a verse of the day located on the home page each day and there is always something that catches my attention, and makes me want to know more. I think the Lord designed it that way, that we would get a taste and always want more. 

I have read so many parts of the Bible and contemplated things, but this verse today grabbed me, it isn’t new to me, so I decided to look into the verses surrounding it and found something interesting. I know that Jesus is the bread of life. I have read that and understand it’s truth, and believe it to be applicable each day; what I hadn’t read or contemplated was the effort the people had to go to to pursue Jesus. In that day, it wasn’t a jaunt in a powered motor boat, or a quick ride in a plane to a new location, it was definitely not a car travelling on a comfy asphalt road, well maintained. It was hard work to pursue this Jesus. He was almost elusive to them, He is here, and then He isn’t. I think most often the disciples would have to leave bread crumbs like Hansel and Gretel. Ha~ ha!

In this excerpt He has just fed them food that appears from no where, like the never ending bag I envision Santa with. Reaching in and always having more appear. That’s a great thing to a group of young children who are looking for a toy, but imagine a group of hungry people. Really really hungry people. We see in instances of true poverty and desperation, a mentality of deprivation form, it is born of need and starvation, and it requires selfishness and fear to promote it. Imagine it, you are starving, wouldn’t there be a wild group of people, attempting to eat for themselves and feed their loved ones? Instead it says Jesus distributed it to the people. It never says that Jesus had to calm them, just that He distributed the bread and fish. That alone, amazed me. What Love and respect they would have for Him for it to overpower their inner need to stay alive.

Anyway… I got to the part about Him walking on water and how the group realized He had left, and then the disciples who didn’t like to be away from Him grabbed a boat and took off. Something impressive to me, is although Jesus was perfect He was human, He didn’t grab His favorite disciple and go off together to talk about what had happened. (Men, I don’t know if you do this, but as a lady, everything seems better with a friend) Instead He went to be alone… with His father. I wish that was my first reaction! Lord let it be! 

The people went after Him, as soon as they woke up and got themselves together and realized… our food bank just left… Let’s make sure we follow Him. Not because of His ability to do miracles, not because He is the son of God but because He gave me food.He took care of my needs. Jesus remarks about it, because He is astounded that they still only see Him as the caterer, when He is their life. Read for yourself:

22 The next day the crowd that had stayed on the far shore saw that the disciples had taken the only boat, and they realized Jesus had not gone with them. 23 Several boats from Tiberias landed near the place where the Lord had blessed the bread and the people had eaten. 24 So when the crowd saw that neither Jesus nor his disciples were there, they got into the boats and went across to Capernaum to look for him. 25 They found him on the other side of the lake and asked, “Rabbi, when did you get here?”

26 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, you want to be with me because I fed you, not because you understood the miraculous signs. 27 But don’t be so concerned about perishable things like food. Spend your energy seeking the eternal life that the Son of Man[f] can give you. For God the Father has given me the seal of his approval.”

28 They replied, “We want to perform God’s works, too. What should we do?”

29 Jesus told them, “This is the only work God wants from you: Believe in the one he has sent.”

30 They answered, “Show us a miraculous sign if you want us to believe in you. What can you do? 31 After all, our ancestors ate manna while they journeyed through the wilderness! The Scriptures say, ‘Moses gave them bread from heaven to eat.’[g]”

32 Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, Moses didn’t give you bread from heaven. My Father did. And now he offers you the true bread from heaven. 33 The true bread of God is the one who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”

34 “Sir,” they said, “give us that bread every day.”

35 Jesus replied, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never be hungry again. Whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. 36 But you haven’t believed in me even though you have seen me. 37 However, those the Father has given me will come to me, and I will never reject them. 38 For I have come down from heaven to do the will of God who sent me, not to do my own will. 39 And this is the will of God, that I should not lose even one of all those he has given me, but that I should raise them up at the last day. 40 For it is my Father’s will that all who see his Son and believe in him should have eternal life. I will raise them up at the last day.”

Isn’t He good. He doesn’t even sting with His remarks, even in His frustration, He just reassures them, that He is coming for them anyway. “Even though, you don’t realllly see me for who I am, I am coming for you, because the Lord has given you to me”. I mean, could we really ask for more? He sees our needs, and when we are asking for miracles, sometimes He is saying, “I already met your need! Go meet with my daddy in private, not in public and ask Him for the miracles that you seek, and then honor Him with or without it going the way you envisioned!” He is a good God, He sent an incredible Son, for you and I- dig a little deeper today!

Blessings

mel

Leave me a message! :)

