Blessed Treasure vs. Created Treasure

Matthew 6:19-21

Treasures in Heaven

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

I have been moved by many things lately. I am amazed at the lack of value this holiday holds. I understand that Christians hold this Holiday dear to their heart, the celebration of our Savior’s birth; but do we really? Tim asked me today if I thought us teaching the children about Santa was wise? Are we lying to them? I always viewed it as a story, like reading a book, sharing a fantasy, for lack of better wording. Tim views it as a big lie, no matter how elaborately crafted, it is still a lie.

I’m on the fence. I am teaching my child about the Son of God, their personal Savior Jesus coming into this world in the same sentence as a big lie. Is it right? Should they value the “giving figure”, more than the “given figure”? Of course not, but aren’t I instilling that in them myself. This incredible excitement building time. Do I put that much into their personal time with the Lord? With teaching them how to take time from your day to honor the Lord? Are they storing valuable items in heaven? Treasures that resulted in the use of the fruits of the spirit? Or am  I, along with the secular crowd, encouraging receiving, receiving and receiving? I will be thinking of this and I hope you will too, not to kill the sweet innocent light in their eyes, but to acknowledge truth over the “fun story”. Which do we make more enticing to them?

Merry Christmas- May Peace Rest On You

mel

Leave me a message! :)

