How Young Is Too Young?

I have a few things in life that I love to the point of adoration, Children, Jesus, God, Holy Spirit and the reading and encouragement of His word. I love adults too, but there is something about a child, who can not think past lunch coming, but can believe for a miracle as great as the stars in the sky. There is something incredible to me, about Jesus coming not for those of us cocky enough to believe we have found the answers, but for the little ones, who don’t even know the questions.

But He came, for them. His plan wasn’t to set up church buildings and draw in grown ups who would bring their children, His goal was to have children in infancy believe on Him and never depart. We focus on the lost being those from young adult to aging adult- that’s where I believe we miss the mark. We hold services designed to usher in the presence of God, and then we set up a room for children; since they can’t understand what is going on and they may prove a distraction…. does this hold true for you? I pray it does not. My desire is not to point out the flaws of the Church itself, but to point out the ironies in us as parents. We do not want interruptions in our time with God, because—- this is the first time all week we spent more than 1 minute with Him…. I hope you are hearing my own intake of swift breath. It’s a kick in the gut. Would I withhold from my child any good and perfect thing that I have access too?

Right now my son thinks being an air guitar playing ninja is the coolest thing on the planet- when he worships, it often looks like that. When he sings a worship song his voice isn’t singing it’s mostly yelling. Is it pretty? No… not really. Does it touch the heart of God? Yes. Yes and Yes! When worship is ending and he is saying in a strong bold voice, “I LOVE YOU JESUS!” am I to quiet him? To tell him to refrain from worship? Should I just send him to the classroom with all the other children who aren’t seeing God in action? If you have read more than this one article, you will know that I am not one to claim perfection, nothing near it in fact. I am not a perfect mom, I don’t have all the answers, and I am unafraid of saying, “I don’t know”. If we are to see revival- something we are calling for in our nation. If we are to see the lost; found, the sick; healed and the dead; live again, who will sound the call? Will it be left to a generation who has been ushered to the back since infancy? A people who don’t know what it is to sob uncontrollably on the floor, because you have heard the voice of the Lord for the first time in 10 years? Who will it be? If my children don’t know what it looks like when Holy Spirit comes in, how will the perceive Him? Will they know that tongues are a gift? Will they assume that people are crazy instead of being blessed by the Holy Living Spirit of God resting upon them?

This weekend a call was given during a special service at our Church, and my little ones were there. My son, at 6 wanted to go forward to be baptized in the Holy Spirit. His sweet little body stood there reverently beside many grown adults, and my mommy heart just rejoiced, that He made the choice to go forward. My daughter is much more hesitant at 7, and I don’t expect it of her yet. She is different, she benefits from the children’s services we provide, she listens and processes what she is taught and is much more mind led than heart. I say that to explain that there is a place, a much needed place for children’s ministry, until a child comes of an age- or an understanding. When they have the understanding, topic becomes key. Which topic will they gain more from? Are they ready to go deeper than the surface? If so, test them out in an adult service, there is nothing keeping them at a child’s faith or understanding level except us as parents. Who said they won’t “get it”? Certainly not Jesus.

Matthew 18 1599 Geneva Translation* I just researched and found this translation on BibleGateway.com- This is one of the most accurate translations of the Bible and the one that America was founded upon.

1 The same time the disciples came unto Jesus, saying, Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?

2 [a]And Jesus called a [b]little child unto him, and set him in the midst of them,

3 And said, Verily I say unto you, except ye be [c]converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.

4 Whosoever therefore shall humble himself as this little child, the same is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

5 And whosoever shall receive one such little child in my Name, receiveth me.

6 [d]But whosoever shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him, that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea.

7 [e]Woe be unto the world because of offences, for it must needs be that [f]offences shall come, but woe be to that man by whom the offence cometh.

8 Wherefore, if thy hand or thy foot cause thee to [g]offend, cut them off, and castthem from thee: it is better for thee to enter into life, halt, or maimed, than having two hands, or two feet, to be cast into everlasting fire.

9 And if thine eye cause thee to offend, pluck it out and cast it from thee: it is better for thee to enter into life with one eye, than having two eyes to be cast into hell fire.

10 [h]See that ye despise not one of these little ones: for I say unto you, that in heaven their Angels always behold the face of my Father which is in heaven.

11 For the Son of man is come to save that which was lost.

He came to bring Revival.

“When revival comes to a people who are in the state thus briefly described, it simply brings them to the condition in which they ought always to have been; it quickens them, gives them new life, stirs the coals of the expiring fire, and puts heavenly breath into the languid lungs.” (http://www.spurgeon.org/s_and_t/wir1866.htm)

I want to see revival continue, I pray and believe that my children can usher it in. There is no child too young to contain the presence of Our Mighty God. The Spirit came upon John the Baptist in the womb simply because Mary, carrying Jesus walked into the house! If you allow the Holy Spirit to come in, He isn’t a respecter of persons, He will fill you and your child with His presence, but if you don’t open the door… He isn’t going to be charged with breaking and entering…

 

Blessings!

mel

Leave me a message! :)

