Peace vs. Strife

Proverbs 17:1 Better is a dry morsel, if peace be with it, than an house full of sacrifices with strife.

Ouch… it hurts my tootsies!!! The word of God is a sharp two edged sword!

We live in a “got to have it right now” kind of World. It wasn’t like this when I was young. Truly.

I remember how much slower time seemed to move. Someone wasn’t always on the phone, or in front of the television for hours on end. I remember- get ready— Bible studies. Yep, where people actually studied the Bible-together.

I know… it seems unreal. But it used to happen weekly, in my home. Women and Men who strove to be more like Him would meet and they would pour over scripture, discuss it, eat a few snacks, and then pray together. I remember prayer’s being answered. I remember people helping themselves enough that someone else’s hand was out to help them stand and then push them to keep it going- on their own.

We have been blessed, I have an amazing family structure- our world doesn’t. Most people do not have a family that wants to see everyone else meet their potential. So we deal with immature, unprepared, and infantile believers. Because our churches mimic what we know of family, instead of what He designed for a family. We have these baby believers who come in to get their world, “fixed” because they are broken and that is where God can move, and then we progress them to areas of service, large or small to connect them, but we don’t assign a mentor, or a pal, we say- go and sin no more.

There is a difference in the society of today vs. then that we forget to take into account. There was a law there. The same law does not exist here. The are exposed to the elements, soft hearted, and unprepared for the World they walk from the altar into. We are unprepared to make sacrifices of time to give a head start to our new brothers and sisters. I am speaking to myself here: because I want to sit in my house and watch that show. That is priority… because I could certainly not make it through the night if I miss it… ouch.

I have to work constantly to make the money that keeps that same show appearing on my television screen. I have to sacrifice 40 hours a week to make all the bills happen, and work myself into a dither, just to keep my wants active. While My needs would be met with more like 20 hours a week, and my heart would be more full of love for my family, because I would be dedicated to them, and showing them daily that they are the most important thing in my life. Not my t.v. show, not my website, not my iPad games…

What if I had time to host a Bible study, and have my children see what it looks like to make His word a priority. To have them see broken people, new people, crying out to the Lord and hearing our praise reports every week? What could it look like? What am I willing to sacrifice for true peace, not the peace I have become used too.

What would happen if I slowed it all down and allowed the Lord to come beside me, and instead of me directing Him in my life, I let Him direct me… Something to ponder on another gorgeous Virginia day.

Blessings,

mel

 

Leave me a message! :)

