His Workmanship- but What Work?

Did you read “A Purpose Driven Life” by Pastor Rick Warren?
I remember when this book came out and people were buying it like it was candy on the $.10 rack. Did you have one of those in the convenience store near you growing up? Loved me some tootsies and bit ‘o honey’s… mmmm good… but back to the book- I am easily distracted by food and candy… and Dr. Pepper!

Ephesians 2:10 (NIV) For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

I remember learning that verse and I had a key chain that would remind me anytime I looked down. I would feel that little tag everytime I left the house, or got into my car and I was reminded that He planned my days long ago, and He didn’t leave me here for giggles. Over time I have forgotten that I was given a mission- an absolute purpose in this life. I am like many of you. I don’t know what that purpose is. I search, but I do not find, I knock and it hasn’t been answered yet, but I am comforted, that HE WILL answer. My time table is not His. My plans are not His. My goals, dreams and ambitions, are not His. His are perfect and they lead me only down paths of righteousness for His namesake. I do desire to know. I want to experience His fullness, and right now the only times I feel Him, are tapping out some words on here, or singing to Him.

He is so glorious, and I love Him so, I get lost in relationships. I often pray that relationships will be the area the Lord doesn’t use me. I know that is a terrible thing to pray, but I am not good at relationships. I struggle. I see my side and only my side, I feel compassion, but not enough to change my stance. I am unwavering and loyal to a fault- but what does that mean anyway, loyalty is honored by God, right? I mean whoever came out with that phrase didn’t know what servant leadership was, to serve and follow the authority above you, even when you don’t agree. It’s kinda like eating the worm at the bottom of a tequila bottle- something I have never done, but I hear it’s the pits… but not when you are doing it. The next day you wake up and realize you don’t know what happened the night before, following the Lord can be like that, but in beautiful ways. He helps you forget the heartache of your decisions, and turns you towards compassion when contempt was your first reaction. He gives you little memory of the days where you suffered long, and instead shows you how His glory was manifest.

What I would give to know the plan He has for me. I know it’s good- because He promises it is. I know it’s for His glory- because everything is. I know it’s trustworthy and dependable, because He is. I know it’s for eternal joy- because no matter how bad I mess it up down here, getting my feelings, and thoughts and criticisms involved, He waits with open arms to welcome me into His Kingdom. If my only goal is to practice singing “Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord God Almighty” until I can join the choir at His throne, Lord, give me the strength and endurance to sing it all the days of my life. That’s all He ever wanted- to know You are His, to be willing to give all you are, all you have to follow Him.

If you don’t know what you are called too today, keep knocking, keep seeking and you are promised to find, not only the answer, but the One who gave you the question waiting- arms open, blueprint in hand.
Blessings,
mel

Leave me a message! :)

