Marriage Truths

Marriage= hard work

no… I mean really= hard work

I heard someone say “when you find the right person- it shouldn’t be hard”.

I wanted to punch them- right in the jaw.

Just my honest reaction- I don’t hide most of my thoughts, or parts of me from you guys- if you read more than 3 posts- you get a pretty good idea that I am; if nothing else-“real”.

Did I punch them- no. They were on a dvd, so I couldn’t get close enough.

I wanted to yell and kick and hit things, because this marriage thing- is so much harder than I ever anticipated.

The amazing part is that I get it now. You know— “why”— every 1/2 couples ends up divorced. Because although God brings a couple together- it doesn’t take away the free will of each individual.

Most divorced kids will suffer many of the same marriage issues their moms and dads did- and many of them will forget the hell it brings into your life to have your world split in two.

I don’t use the word “hell” to be vulgar- I use it because when we destroy a marriage covenant we conveniently pluck God out of His rightful seat and His blessings, promises and hope are tossed out the window. See when I say, “I can fix this myself by getting a divorce” I am out of order. The reality is that, “He who is able to do all things…” “He has plans for good, not for disaster, plans to give me a future and a hope”… No where does it say- upon your divorce your issues will fade and you will again- be happy.

I point you back to Him, because I have to look back at Him, everyday and say, “Yes, Lord.” Saying “No” would be easy indeed, for me- for a moment and then the tidal wave of agony hits my child, and then by consequence, me. Sure, I can release myself from this marriage- but what does God say about that? Does He promise to bless me for breaking covenants with Him? What if time and trust were what He was trying to teach me all along and instead of my spouse being used to move my heart for the ways of the Lord- that may not have appeared to be led, or even allowed of the Lord- I fail the test, don’t learn the lesson and my family and the generations that follow it are destroyed.

Divorce is a destroyer. There is no one left a Victor in a Divorce. No- not one.

We have a difficult marriage- and I let you into our private issues, because you need to see the end result and look back at this one day and go- God healed, saved, resurrected, pulled from the ashes two hurting and lost hearts and He alone- breathed new life- new hope and new joy into them. I cannot do this without God.

I am unable to do anything without Him. I can’t heal my heart or my marriage, but when I offer them- living sacrifices to Him- He makes beautiful things.

Give it to Him- that thing- you know the one- it may not be your marriage- but there is one area of your life- that you alone want control of, give it to Him and let Him make it into something beautiful.

Blessings,

mel

Leave me a message! :)

